Thank you for playing “FINAL FANTASY Trading Card Game”. We have encountered a need to update our responses in the FAQs and official announcements regarding delayed auto-abilities.
Cards such as [11-140S] Kadaj and [12-029L] The Emperor have “delayed auto-abilities” that have take effect sometime after they are activated. For example, [11-140S] Kadaj has the ability “At the end of each of your turns, you may remove Kadaj from the game. If you do so, at the end of your opponent's turn, play Kadaj onto the field.” that produces a delayed auto-ability. This applies to the “at the end of your opponent's turn, play Kadaj onto the field.” part in this case.
Previously, we had been responding that the ability would “take effect at the end of each of your opponent’s turns for as long as Kadaj is removed from the game”. For example, if there is another Kadaj in your field, it cannot return to the field using the ability. However, as the ability would be activated at the end of each of your opponent’s turns, it will be able to return once Kadaj is removed from your field.
However, this respond was not correct in terms of the rules. Delayed auto-abilities only take effect for the first time that the conditions are met. Therefore, if [11-140S] Kadaj could not return to the field when activated for whatever reason, the ability is not activated from then on and Kadaj will not return to the field. This applies to all delayed auto-abilities. Delayed auto-abilities only take effect once, and do not take effect from then on even when the conditions are met.
This rule update will be applied from the tournament on December 1st. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. Thank you.
FFTCG Producer Tarou Kageyama