Hello everybody. FFTCG Producer Tarou Kageyama here. I would like to talk a little bit about【13-002L】Akstar - a card coming out on March 26th in the latest set “Opus XIII - Crystal Radiance”, its abilities, and the rule which has been established regarding the EX burst which comes along with it. I hope you enjoy it!
There’s something I’d like to mention first. We have established a rule and revised parts of the Comprehensive Rules regarding EX bursts to clarify about using EX bursts outside of the way in which they are usually used (the usual way being activating when damage is received and it is put in the Damage Zone). I hope that you can take a look at these as well as this column. Also, when【13-002L】Akstar was introduced in the preview, we received a few questions regarding its abilities on our official Twitter account (@FFTCG_SQEX.) The answers we gave on the offical Twitter account weren’t wrong, but they were based on the Comprehensive rules before they were revised. I’m very sorry, but I’d love for you to take another look at how they work by reading this column! Thank you!
・What【13-002L】Akstar can do
Firstly, let’s take a look at what Akstar’s abilities can do. The abilities are as follows:
1: When Akstar enters the field, choose 1 card with EX Burst in your Damage Zone. This is put on the stack.
2: Resolve 1. This puts the “effect” of the EX burst from your chosen card onto the stack. As the stack is used here, each player can use summons and abilities to respond to the effect of the EX burst.
3: Resolve the “effect” which was placed on the stack.
To give you an idea, imagine something like an EX burst which can be responded to. With this in mind, I’d like to talk a little bit more about “effects” which can be put on the stack. With the rule which has been established, the EX burst is now the “effect” of the Summon or of the auto-ability. In other words,【13-002L】Akstar is neither a Summon nor an ability, and its “effect” is put on the stack.
If it’s an “effect” and not a Summon or an ability, can you choose Characters who have the ability “cannot be chosen by Summons or abilities”? These cards cannot be selected by normal EX bursts, or even by using Akstar’s ability. As specified in the established rule, and in the Comprehensive rules, the “effect” has the characteristics of the original Summon or ability. Therefore, it is not possible to select cards which could not be chosen by Summons or abilities. However, at the end of the day it is still an “effect”, so it cannot be selected by using “choose a Summon or ability.”
How I’ve put it might sound a little bit confusing, but what happens is no different to how a usual EX burst works. The “effect” of the EX burst which is triggered by【13-002L】Akstar’s ability is also no different from a normal EX burst - except that it is put on the stack. With this rule which has been established, it’s possible that cards which use EX bursts in new ways might appear in the future, so please look forward to this!
I hope you continue to enjoy FFTCG!