Final Fantasy Trading Cards Games

Gameplay


Starter Guide

Starter Guide

Start off on the right foot and discover the base concept and mechanics of the game in this short introductory guide.

Read Starter Guide

Decks and Mats

Decks and Mats

Discover the idea, key cards and mechanics behind each of the Starter Sets available.

Decks and Mats

Advanced Rules

Advanced Rules

A comprehensive rulebook for more experienced players providing and in-depth look at the various game mechanics and specific gameplay scenarios.

Advanced Rules

Tutorial

Videos

JOB CHANGES

As explained in our Producer's Blog from June 2017, a number of changes were made to the Jobs in order to ensure consistency across the different languages.

ENGLISH

Name Card number Before After
Leon 1-060H Dark Knight Rebel

FRENCH

Name Card number Before After
Leon 1-060H Chevalier noir Rebelle
Quistis 2-127R Instructrice Instructeur
Exdeath 1-122H Sorcier Incantateur
Exdeath 2-101H Sorcier Incantateur
Exdeath 3-100L Sorcier Incantateur
Enuo 3-101H Sorcier Incantateur
Larsa 2-139C Prince Quatrième fils de l'Empereur

SPANISH

Name Card number Before After
Leon 1-060H Caballero oscuro Rebelde
Quistis 2-127R Instructora Seed Instructor
Reeve 2-119R Director Director de la WRO
Exdeath 1-122H Mago Brujo
Exdeath 2-101H Mago Brujo
Exdeath 3-100L Mago Brujo
Enuo 3-101H Mago Brujo
Laguna 1-058L Pistolero Tirador
Laguna 1-059R Pistolero Tirador
Laguna 2-046R Pistolero Tirador
Enna Kros 1-095R Diosa Divinidad creadora
Larsa 2-139C Príncipe Cuarto hijo del Emperador
Raubahn 2-093H Jefe General de los inmortales
Ashe 2-121H Reina Princesa

GERMAN

Name Card number Before After
Leon 1-060H Dunkelritter Freiheitskämpfer
Emperor Xande 2-007L Kaiser Imperator
Gramis 2-106R Kaiser Imperator
Golbez 1-135L Hexer Hexenmeister
Golbez 2-109H Hexer Hexenmeister
Kurasame 3-031R Kommandant Ausbilder
Doktor Cid 2-041H Forscher Forschungsleiter
Gilgamesh 1-128R Hauptmann Prätorianer
Gilgamesh 3-103H Hauptmann Prätorianer
Gilgamesh 1-129C Hauptmann Prätorianer
Laguna 1-058L Schütze Meisterschütze
Laguna 1-059R Schütze Meisterschütze
Laguna 2-046R Schütze Meisterschütze
Krile 3-078H Paladin Mystikritter
Enna Kros 1-095R Göttin Schöpferin der Welten
Leonora 3-143C Priester Geistliche
Larsa 2-139C Prinz Vierter Sohn des Imperators
Raubahn 2-093H General Phönixgeneral

ITALIAN

Name Card number Before After
Laguna 1-058L Pistolero Cecchino
Laguna 1-059R Pistolero Cecchino
Golbez 1-135L Mago nero Stregone
Quistis 2-127R Istruttrice Istruttore
Leon 1-060H Cavaliere nero Ribelle
Amarant 3-013R Cacciatore di taglie Combattente
Gippal 1-101R Capo Leader della fazione
Larsa 2-139C Principe Quarto figlio dell'imperatore
Raubahn 2-093H Capo Generale degli immortali
Exdeath 1-122H Mago Incantatore
Exdeath 2-101H Mago Incantatore
Exdeath 3-100L Mago Incantatore
Enuo 3-101H Mago Incantatore
Krile 3-078H Paladino Cavaliere mistico
Mustadio 1-118R Ingegnere Macchinista

OPUS I

Card 1-053C Evokateur

Language: German

Card name changed from Beschwörer to Evokateur

Original text

lege Beschwörer auf die Break Zone: Wähle 1 Beschwörung aus. Annulliere ihren Effekt.

Correction

lege Evokateur auf die Break Zone: Wähle 1 Beschwörung aus. Annulliere ihren Effekt.

Card 1-087C Archer

Language: Spanish

The card text is in French.

Correction Spanish

Iniciativa (Si este Delantero bloquea o es bloqueado por un Delantero que no tenga Iniciativa, este Delantero inflige daño primero.)

Card 1-100C Black Belt

Language: all except Italian

Original text

Choose 1 blocked Forward. It gains +1000 power until the end of the turn.

Correction

Choose 1 blocking Forward. It gains +1000 power until the end of the turn.

Card 1-106C Golem

Language: all except Italian

Original text

Choose 1 Forward. It gains +2000 power until the end of the turn. If it is blocked, it gains +4000 power until the end of the turn instead.

Correction

Choose 1 Forward. It gains +2000 power until the end of the turn. If it is blocking, it gains +4000 power until the end of the turn instead.

Card 1-116L Prishe

Language: French

Card Job was changed from "Enfant agaçante" to "L'Infâme".

Card 1-117R Hecatoncheir

Language: Italian

Original text Italian

Scegli 1 Retroguardia di costo 3 o inferiore. Distruggila

Correction Italian

Scegli 1 Retroguardia di costo 3 o superiore. Distruggila

Card PR-021/1-182L Cloud

Language: Spanish

Original text Spanish

Omnilátigo 《S》《1》《ダル》: Elige 1 Delantero. Rómpelo.

Correction Spanish

Omnilátigo 《S》《3》《ダル》: Elige 1 Delantero. Rómpelo.

(The CP cost for Omnislash has been changed from 1 to 3.)

Card 1-176H Yuna

Language: all

Original text

EX BURST When Yuna enters the field, choose 1 Forward. Return it to its owner's hand.
When a Character is put from the field into the Break Zone, you may remove it from the game instead.

Correction

EX BURST When Yuna enters the field, choose 1 Forward. Return it to its owner's hand.
If a Character is put from the field into the Break Zone, you may remove it from the game instead.

Card 1-187S Cloud

Language: German

Original text German

Die Kosten, um Cloud auf das Spielfeld zu bringen, reduzieren sich für jeden [Kategorie (VII)] Stürmer, um 1.

Correction German

Die Kosten, um Cloud auf das Spielfeld zu bringen, reduzieren sich für jeden [Kategorie (VII)] Stürmer, den du kontrollierst, um 1.

Card 1-214S Yuna

Language: Spanish

Original text Spanish

Cuando se lanza una Invocación, puedes poner en dull a Yuna si está activa. Si lo haces, coge 1 carta. Este efecto solo se puede desencadenar una vez por turno.

Correction Spanish

Cuando lanzas una Invocación, puedes poner en dull a Yuna si está activa. Si lo haces, coge 1 carta. Este efecto solo se puede desencadenar una vez por turno.

OPUS II

Card 2-017R Bergan

Language: Spanish

Original text Spanish

《火》《1》: Inflige 1000 puntos de daño a todos los Delanteros controlados por tu oponente.
Si una Invocación de tu oponente elige a Bergan como objetivo, pon a Bergan en la Break Zone.

Correction Spanish

《火》《1》: Inflige 1000 puntos de daño a todos los Delanteros controlados por tu oponente.
Cuando Bergan es objetivo de una Invocación, pon a Bergan en la Break Zone.

Card 2-018C Evokateur

Language: German

Card name changed from Beschwörer to Evokateur

Original text

lege Beschwörer auf die Break Zone: Wenn ein Stürmer in diesem Zug Schaden erleidet, erhöht sich dieser Schaden um 1000.

Correction

lege Evoktateur auf die Break Zone: Wenn ein Stürmer in diesem Zug Schaden erleidet, erhöht sich dieser Schaden um 1000 stattdessen.

Card 2-026L Vayne

Language: German

Original text German

Die Stürmer mit Kosten von 5 oder mehr, die dein Gegner kontrolliert, werden in dessen Active Phase nicht aktiviert.

Correction German

Die Stürmer mit Kosten von 5 oder mehr, die dein Gegner kontrolliert, werden in der Active Phase desjenigen, der sie kontrolliert, nicht aktiviert.

Card 2-051L Vaan

Language: German

Original text German

Du kannst 1 Unterstützer mit Kosten von 2 oder weniger zurück auf die Hand seines Besitzers bringen.

Correction German

Du kannst 1 Unterstützer mit Kosten von 2 oder weniger, den du kontrollierst, zurück auf die Hand seines Besitzers bringen.

Card 2-061C Ninja

Language: German

Original text German

Wenn Ninja in diesem Zug einem Stürmer Schaden zufügt, verdoppelt sich der Schaden.

Correction German

Falls Ninja in diesem Zug einem Stürmer Schaden zufügt, verdoppelt sich der Schaden stattdessen.

(See Opus III change with "Wenn" and "Falls")

Card 2-063R Nono

Language: All

Original Text

Choose as many Forwards as Job Moogle you control. Activate them.

Correction

Choose up to the same number of Forwards as the Job Moogle you control. Activate them.

Card 2-070R Shemhazai, the Whisperer

Language: Spanish

Original text

Durante este turno, ningún Delantero puede bloquear a otro de coste mayor al suyo.

Correction

Durante este turno, los Delanteros solo pueden ser bloqueados por Delanteros de coste igual o inferior al suyo.

Card 2-090R Yang

Language: Spanish

Original text Spanish

Por cada [Nombre de la carta (Monje)] y [Oficio (Monje)] que controlas que no sea Yang, Yang gana +1000 de poder.

Si Yang tiene más de 10000 de poder, gana Bravura.

Correction Spanish

Por cada [Nombre de la carta (Monje)] y [Oficio (Monje)] que controlas que no sea Yang, Yang gana +1000 de poder.

Si Yang tiene 10000 o más de poder, Yang gana Bravura.

Card 2-103H Kain

Language: all languages

Original text

At the beginning of your next Main Phase and until the end of the same turn, Kain's power will double.

Correction

At the beginning of your next turn's Main Phase 1 and until the end of the same turn, Kain's power will double.

Card 2-131C Paladin

Language: English & French

Card name changed from Knight to Paladin.

OPUS III

Language: German

Cards were reviewed to make a clearer distinction between field abilities "if" and auto-abilities "when". From Opus III onwards, "Wenn" is now printed for auto-abilities and "Falls" for field abilities or other uses of the term "if".

Card 3-034H Genesis Avatar

Language: all

Original text

When Genesis Avatar enters the field, deal damage equal to half of its power to all the Forwards opponent controls (round up to the nearest 1000).

Correction

When Genesis Avatar enters the field, deal each Forward opponent controls damage equal to half of its power (round up to the nearest 1000).

Card 3-089R - The Girl Who Forgot Her Name

Language: French

The card job was changed from "Petite fille" to "Jeune fille"

Card 3-101R Enuo

Language: all

Original text

When a Character is put from the field into the Break Zone, you may remove it from the game instead.
《1》: Choose 1 card in the Break Zone. Remove it from the game.

Correction

If a Character is put from the field into the Break Zone, you may remove it from the game instead.
《1》: Choose 1 card in the Break Zone. Remove it from the game.

Card 3-130R Cagnazzo

Language: all languages except German

Original text

When Cagnazzo enters the field, all the Forwards opponent controls lose 1000 power for every 2 Water Characters you control.

Correction

When Cagnazzo enters the field, until of the end of turn, all the Forwards opponent controls lose 1000 power for every 2 Water Characters you control.

Card 3-144L Lena

Language: Spanish

Original text

Elige un Delantero Luz u Oscuridad de tu Break Zone. Juégalo al terreno de juego. Puedes usar esta habilidad solo durante tu turno.

Correction

Elige un Delantero que no sea Luz u Oscuridad de tu Break Zone. Juégalo al terreno de juego. Puedes usar esta habilidad solo durante tu turno.

OPUS IV

Card 4-094R Magic Pot

Language: all

Original text

Magic Pot enters the field dull.
《土》《ダル》, put Magic Pot and 1 Forward into the Break Zone: Search for 1 Forward with the same name as the Forward you put into the Break Zone and play it onto the field. You can only use this ability during your turn.

Correction

Magic Pot enters the field dull.
《土》《ダル》, put Magic Pot and 1 Forward without 《一般》 into the Break Zone: Search for 1 Forward with the same name as the Forward you put into the Break Zone and play it onto the field. You can only use this ability during your turn.

(Magic Pot's ability no longer works with Forwards that bear the generic card icon. The reason is some "Standard Unit" Fowards have different names among the different languages, thus making Magic Pot's option to search different between languages.)

Card 4-109H Hildibrand

Language: all

Original text

If Hildibrand leaves the field due to your opponent's Summons or abilities, return him to your hand instead. (Hildibrand does not return to your hand if he receives damage higher than his power or if his power is reduced to 0.)
Manderville Dance 《S》《雷》: Reveal the top card of your deck. If it is a Forward, play it onto the field dull. If not, put it into the Break Zone.

Correction

If Hildibrand leaves the field due to your opponent's Summons or abilities, return him to your hand instead. (Hildibrand does not return to your hand if he receives damage equal or higher than his power or if his power is reduced to 0.)
Manderville Dance 《S》《雷》: Reveal the top card of your deck. If it is a Forward, play it onto the field dull. If not, put it into the Break Zone.

OPUS V

Card 5-030C - Gelehrter

Language: German

A "Water" icon was mistakenly printed in place of the "Ice" icon.

Card 5-059R Semi Lafihna

Language: French

Original text

Le coût requis pour jouer Nom de Carte Sibyl stellaire sur le terrain baisse de 2.

Correction

Le coût requis pour jouer Nom de Carte Sibylle stellaire sur le terrain baisse de 2.

Card 5-063H Deathgaze

Language: English

The “Dull” icon was mistakenly printed in place of the Special ability icon.

Card 5-076C Botanist

Language: All

Original text

When Botanist enters the field, choose 1 Character you control. Select 1 Character with the same name in your Break Zone and add it to your hand.

Correction

When Botanist enters the field, choose 1 Character without 《一般》 you control. Select 1 Character with the same name in your Break Zone and add it to your hand.

(Botanist's ability no longer works with Characters that bear the generic card icon. The reason is some "Standard Unit" Characters have different names among the different languages, thus making Botanist's option to choose different between languages.)

Card 5-087R Doga

Language: All except German

Original text

《土》《ダル》, put Doga into the Break Zone: Choose 1 Character you control. It cannot be broken by opposing Summons or abilities that don't deal damage.

Correction

《土》《ダル》, put Doga into the Break Zone: Choose 1 Character you control. During this turn, it cannot be broken by opposing Summons or abilities that don't deal damage.

Card 5-114C Artilleur

Language: French

Original text

《雷》《ダル》 : mettez Artilleur dans la Break Zone : Choisissez 1 Avant en train de bloquer.

Correction

《雷》《ダル》, mettez Artilleur dans la Break Zone : Choisissez 1 Avant en train de bloquer.

Card 5-166S Rasler

Language: German

Original text

Der Kartenname Ashe, den du kontrollierst, kann in diesem Zug nicht von gegnerischen Beschwörungen oder Fähigkeiten, die keinen Schaden verursachen, gebrochen werden.eur dans la Break Zone : Choisissez 1 Avant en train de bloquer.

Correction

Der Kartenname Ashe, den du kontrollierst, kann nicht von gegnerischen Beschwörungen oder Fähigkeiten, die keinen Schaden verursachen, gebrochen werden.

OPUS VI

Card 6-044L Zidane

Language: All

The second auto-ability allows "1 Wind Character" to be chosen, not any character.

Card 6-003H Ghai

Language: German

Für jeden Kategorie II-Charakter außer Ghai, den du kontrollierst, erhält Ghai +1000 Stärke, nicht nur für jeden Stürmer.
Die Pre-Release-Promokarte ist davon nicht betroffen!

OPUS VII

Card 7-062R Hope

Language: French

Original text

"Si vous contrôlez un Job Père ou un Job Mère..."

Correction

"Si vous contrôlez un Job Père et un Job Mère..."

Card 7-015R Fang

Language: French

Original text

Si vous contrôlez 6 Personnages de Catégorie XIII ou plus, Fang gagne +3000 points de dégâts.

Correction

Si vous contrôlez 6 Personnages de Catégorie XIII ou plus, Fang gagne +3000 de force.

Card 7-035L Serah

Language: All

Original Text

When Serah enters the field, choose as many Characters as the Category XIII Characters you control. Dull them.
Dull 2 active Category XIII Characters: Choose 1 Forward. Freeze it.

Correction

When Serah enters the field, choose up to the same number of Characters as the Category XIII Characters you control. Dull them.
Dull 2 active Category XIII Characters: Choose 1 Forward. Freeze it.

OPUS VIII

Card 8-053H Sherlotta

Language: English

Original text

If you pay a CP, you may put Sherlotta into the Break Zone to produce 1 CP of any Element. (You can dull Sherlotta to pay the CP.)

Correction

You may put Sherlotta into the Break Zone to produce 1 CP of any Element in order to pay a CP cost. (This can be in addition to dulling Sherlotta for CP.)

Card 8-091H Alba

Original Text

EX BURST When Alba enters the field, choose as many Forwards opponent controls as the Job Warrior of Darkness you control. Dull them.
If your opponent controls 2 or more dull Forwards, Alba gains Haste and "Alba cannot be chosen by your opponent's Summons or abilities".
Correction
EX BURST When Alba enters the field, choose up to the same number of Forwards opponent controls as the Job Warrior of Darkness you control. Dull them.
If your opponent controls 2 or more dull Forwards, Alba gains Haste and "Alba cannot be chosen by your opponent's Summons or abilities".

Card 8-102R Death Machine

Language: All

Original Text

Each turn, at the beginning of Main Phase 1, if neither player controls Forwards, put Death Machine into the Break Zone.
At the end of your turn, choose 1 Forward opponent controls. Break it.
At the end of your opponent's turn, select 1 Forward you control. Put it into the Break Zone.
Correction
Each turn, at the beginning of Main Phase 1, if either player doesn't controls Forwards, put Death Machine into the Break Zone.
At the end of your turn, choose 1 Forward opponent controls. Break it.
At the end of your opponent's turn, select 1 Forward you control. Put it into the Break Zone.

Starter guide – Mulligan

Language: German/Italian

Original text German

Beide Spieler ziehen für ihre Starthand 5 Karten von ihrem Deck. Jedem Spieler ist ein Mulligan erlaubt: Er kann unerwünschte Karten in beliebiger Reihenfolge unter sein Deck legen und dieselbe Anzahl an Karten ziehen.

Correction German

Beide Spieler ziehen für ihre Starthand 5 Karten von ihrem Deck. Jedem Spieler ist ein Mulligan erlaubt: Er kann alle 5 Karten in beliebiger Reihenfolge unter sein Deck legen und 5 neue Karten ziehen.

Original text Italian

Entrambi i giocatori pescano 5 carte dai loro mazzi per creare la loro mano d’apertura. Ai giocatori è consentito ripescare le carte una sola volta per cambiare la loro mano d’apertura (mulligan); ovvero possono rimettere quante carte desiderano della loro mano d’apertura in fondo ai propri mazzi in qualunque ordine e ripescare poi lo stesso numero di carte.

Correction Italian

Entrambi i giocatori pescano 5 carte dai loro mazzi per creare la loro mano d'apertura. Ai giocatori è consentito ripescare le carte una sola volta per cambiare la loro mano d'apertura (mulligan); ovvero possono rimettere tutte e 5 le carte della loro mano d'apertura in fondo ai propri mazzi in qualunque ordine e ripescare poi 5 nuove carte.

Starter guide – Party Attack – First Strike

Languages: all

Original text

When forming a Party, all the Forwards' abilities can be used but if all the Party members do not have First Strike, only the Forwards that have this trait will benefit from it.

Correction

When forming a Party, all the Forwards' abilities can be used. A Party can only benefit from First Strike if all the Forwards forming the Party have this trait.

Welcome to our F.A.Q. section, make sure to check it regularly!

An explanation about the new “Damage” mechanic: For abilities written as Damage X; this refers to when a Character gains an ability, only when the controller of that Character has received the number of damage points specified or more. For Damage X field abilities, these become instantly active when the number of damage points specified (or more) is received. For Damage X action abilities, these can be used when the number of damage points specified (or more) is received. They cannot be triggered if the number “X” is not yet met.

Fire


【10-001H】Ignacio
If you deal damage to more than one Forward as a result of blocking a party attack with Ignacio, draw the same number of cards as the amount of Forwards you dealt damage to.

【10-002H】Ifrit
If the chosen Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution or has left the field, your Fire Forwards do not gain +2000 power. If you cast Ifrit and choose one of the Fire Forwards you control with 8000 power, that Forward’s power will be 10000, with 8000 damage dealt to it.

【10-003C】Balasa
The ability refers to the number of Backups you control at the time of resolution.

【10-005C】Gancanagh
When Damage 5 is active, Gancanagh has two action abilities. It’s not the case that the second action ability replaces the first one, the controller can use one or the other.

【10-006R】 Cloud
The payment of occurs when resolving. After paying this cost, “Choose 1 Dark Forward” and any other auto-abilities are then added to the stack.

【10-007H】Zack
When a Forward that is both Fire and Category VII enters the field, the auto-ability is triggered twice and may be stacked in the order of your choice.

【10-008L】Xande
When Damage 5 is active, the two auto-abilities are triggered when Xande enters the field and may be stacked in the order of your choice. You may also select the same name card than that chosen from the first auto-ability. All of them enter the field, but all of them are put into the Break Zone immediately.

【10-010C】Onion Knight (III)
【1-107L】Shantotto and 【1-103C】Kimahri have more than one Element. In the event that you control 【1-107L】Shantotto and another Fire Backup, it would count that you control two Fire Backups and they would not count as different Backups.

【10-018C】Ryid
When Damage 5 is active, both Damage 3 and Damage 5 field abilities are therefore active.

【10-131S】Ace
The payment of occurs when resolving. After paying this cost, “Choose 1 Forward…” and any other auto-abilities are then added to the stack.

Ice


【10-023H】Unei
A Forward removed from and then played back onto the field is treated as a newly played Forward. Unless it has Haste, it may not attack or use any abilities with the dull icon this turn. All power modifiers on the card are removed when the card leaves the field.

【10-024R】Eald’narche
When Damage 5 is active, the two auto-abilities are triggered when Eald’narche enters the field and may be stacked in the order of your choice.

【10-028L】Cloud of Darkness
It’s at the point of resolution that you may put 1 Character into the Break Zone. After doing so, all subsequent auto-abilities are then added to the stack.

【10-030H】Shiva
Shiva cannot be cast unless a total of 2 Forwards can be chosen.

【10-032H】Scylla
If the chosen Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution or has left the field, your opponent does not discard a card.

【10-033L】Squall
When Damage 2 is active the two auto-abilities are triggered when Squall enters the field and may be stacked in the order of your choice. When Damage 5 is active the three auto-abilities are triggered when Squall enters the field and may be stacked in the order of your choice.

【10-034H】Sephiroth
Back Attack doesn’t stack. Sephiroth can be played onto the field when a stack is present, but it does not have any effect on the stack and Sephiroth just goes onto the field immediately.

【10-037C】Dendrobium
When Damage 5 is active, Dendrobium has two action abilities. It’s not the case that the second action ability replaces the first one. the controller can use one or the other. If none of the chosen Forwards are legal targets at the time of resolution or have left the field, you do not draw a card.

【10-041C】Shivan
If the chosen Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution or has left the field, you do not draw a card.

Wind


【10-043H】Arc
When Damage 3 is active, the two auto-abilities are triggered when Arc enters the field and may be stacked in the order of your choice.

【10-045C】Unsaganashi
When Damage 5 is active Unsaganashi has two action abilities. It’s not the case that the second action ability replaces the first one, the controller can use one or the other.

【10-050C】Thief
If multiple cards are put from the opponent’s deck into the Break Zone, +2000 power is added for each of those cards.

【10-052L】Cid (FFBE)
9000 damage is done to a Forward that enters the field by the effect of an ability or a Summon. If a Forward enters the field with its cost being reduced to 0 due to an effect of some kind, Cid (FFBE) will still deal that Forward 9000 damage.

【10-053C】Sylph
If the chosen Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution or has left the field, you do not draw a card.

【10-054C】Onion Knight (III)
【1-107L】Shantotto and 【1-103C】Kimahri have more than one Element. In the event that you control 【1-107L】Shantotto and another Fire Backup, it would count that you control two Fire Backups and they would not count as different Backups.

【10-055H】Chocobo
If the chosen Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution or has left the field, you do not Draw a card.

【10-133S】Vaan
The ability can only repeat once.

【10-134S】Kain
“Battle damage” refers to damage dealt to Forwards at the damage resolution step after Kain has attacked or blocked. “Battle damage” doesn’t include the damage dealt by Forwards to each other as a result of an effect from a card like Hecatoncheir【4-093R】.

Earth


【10-064R】Atlas
When Damage 5 is active, both Damage 2 and Damage 5 field abilities are therefore active.

【10-066C】Garganzola
When Damage 5 is active, Garganzola has two action abilities. It’s not the case that the second action ability replaces the first one and the controller can use one or the other.

【10-069R】Black Tortoise l’Cie Gilgamesh
“It cannot be put into the Break Zone” refers to how effects from abilities and Summons that read “put it into the Break Zone”, such as 【3-123R】Famfrit, the Darkening Cloud and 【8-136L】Veritas of the Dark, will not be applied. Summons and abilities that are written as “Break a Forward” etc. will break Black Tortoise l’Cie Gilgamesh in the same way as other Forwards. Black Tortoise l’Cie Gilgamesh will also break if he receives equal damage to or more damage than his current power. As per the game rules when the power of a Forward becomes 0 or less, they will be put into the Break Zone.

【10-071R】Cid (MOBIUS)
The number of Forwards you control is checked at the time of resolution.

【10-072L】 Shantotto
The card is revealed at the time of resolution. After revealing, the auto-ability based on the revealed card’s cost is added to the stack. If the revealed card is of cost 3, nothing happens.

【10-074C】Suzuhisa
Suzuhisa’s auto-ability only triggers once per turn. You may still draw the cards, even if putting Suzuhisa in the Break Zone is halted by removing him from the game, like with card 【1-176H】 Yuna. If Suzuhisa leaves the field before the first auto-ability resolves, he is not put in the Break Zone, and you cannot draw the cards. If the opponent’s auto-ability triggers as an Ex-Burst, Suzushisa’s auto-ability doesn’t trigger.

【10-076H】Titan
The actions are selected at the time Titan is cast. The effects resolve from the top of the list as they are written. You cannot select the same action twice. If the chosen Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution, none of the subsequent effects/actions happen.

【10-077C】Onion Knight (III)
【1-107L】Shantotto and 【1-103C】Kimahri have more than one Element. In the example that you have 【1-107L】Shantotto and another Fire Backup, it would count that you own two Fire Backups and they would not count as different Backups.

【10-135S】Kefka
The auto-ability that triggers when Kefka attacks requires a total of two Forwards to be chosen. When Kefka is the only Forward that you control and which can be chosen, you must choose him.

Lightning


【10-087R】Willis
If you control a Card Name Judge of Wings and Willis is able to attack, you cannot declare the end of the attack phase until he has attacked.

【10-090C】Kanna Kamuy
When Damage 5 is active, Kanna Kamuy has two action abilities. It’s not the case that the second action ability replaces the first one and the controller can use one or the other.

【10-095H】Desch
When you have 3 or more points of damage, both Damage 1 and Damage 3 are active. When you have 5 of more points of damage, Damage 1, Damage 3 and Damage 5 are therefore active.

【10-098L】Feolthanos
For cards such as 【1-123R】 Odin that include an extra criterion for the chosen Forward that Feolthanos doesn’t fulfil, Feolthanos does not need to be chosen. In the case that two or more Forwards or Characters are chosen, at least one of those must be Feolthanos.

【10-100C】Raiden (REVENANT WINGS)
You can still cast Raiden (REVENANT WINGS) and draw a card, even if you don’t have any active Forwards.

【10-103R】Ramza
When Damage 5 is active, the two auto-abilities are triggered when Ramza enters the field and may be stacked in the order of your choice.

【10-137S】Lightning
If none of the Forwards chosen by the special ability are legal targets at the time of resolution or have left the field, you do not draw a card.

Water


【10-106L】Ashe
The effect to be used is selected when the auto-ability occurs. The effects resolve from the top of the list as they are written. You cannot select the same effect twice. If the chosen Forward or Character is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution, none of the subsequent effects/actions happen.

【10-107C】Exoray
When Damage 5 is active, Exoray has two action abilities. It’s not the case that the second action ability replaces the first one and the controller can use one or the other.

【10-110C】Cúchulainn
The number of cards in hand is checked at resolution. The card can be drawn if the power of the Forward becomes 0, and as per the rule they are then put in the Break Zone. For example, you will not draw a card, even if a Forward is put into the Break Zone that was 5000 power and already had taken 1000 damage, and their power was reduced by 4000 due to Cúchulainn’s effect.

【10-111H】Gilgamesh (XI)
If Gilgamesh receives more damage than his power level from a Summon or an ability, Gilgamesh breaks as per the normal rules.

【10-115C】Cecil
Every time a Forward receives damage during the turn when Cecil used the action ability, the damage is reduced by -2000. The effect doesn’t trigger just once.

【10-116C】Onion Knight (III)
【1-107L】Shantotto and 【1-103C】Kimahri have more than one element. In the example that you have 【1-107L】Shantotto and another Fire Backup, it would count that you own two Fire Backups and they would not count as different Backups.

【10-123R】Lion
When Damage 5 is active, both Damage 2 and Damage 5 are therefore active.

Light & Dark


【10-139S】Onion Knight
In the case of “Meteor”, Onion Knight’s power value is checked at resolution. ・In the case that Onion Knight is no longer on the field when the ability resolves, this is based on Onion Knight’s last known power just before leaving the field.

【10-129L】Hein
The Element is selected at resolution.

【10-140S】Cloud of Darkness
The removed card is revealed face up.

Fire


【9-001C】 Irvine
The number of Forwards is checked at resolution.

【9-002H】 Ifrita
Any card discarded as part of the cost to play Ifrita are not counted towards the amount of cards considered in your break zone. When selecting 3 of the 3 actions, resolve them in order from top to bottom. You cannot select the same action twice

【9-003L】Ace
If there are less than 7 cards left in your deck, reveal them all.

【9-004C】Ace
If there are less than 5 cards left in your deck, reveal them all.

【9-009R】Gijuk
The number of Job Head Hunter is checked at resolution.

【9-010R】King
When discarding 1 Job Class Zero Cadet to play King onto the field, it can be a card of any Element.

【9-013C】Fusilier
The payment of the Fire CP occurs at resolution. After paying, the auto-ability “When you do so…” goes onto the stack and any other auto/action/special abilities can then be stacked in turn.

【9-019R】Bomb
The number “5000” on this card represents Bomb’s power when he becomes a Forward. Bomb does not have any power when he is not a Forward. During your turn and when on the field, Bomb is of both Forward and Monster types.

【9-017C】Belias
If the chosen Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution or has left the field, you do not draw a card.

【9-020R】Rhitahtyn
After using his Special Ability, if Rhitahtyn leaves the field before the end of the current turn, nothing happens. (The damage of 10000 is dealt by the auto-ability generated by the special ability, and which triggers at the end of the turn.)

Ice


【9-022L】Vayne
The [1] CP cost must be paid separately for each Forward. For example, you cannot discard a card to generate 2 CP and pay for two Forwards.

【9-023R】Quistis
If there are less than 5 cards in your deck, reveal them all.
Special ability: The card is revealed at the time of resolution. Once it has been revealed, nothing can be done to prevent the subsequent effects.

【9-026C】Cid Aulstyne
The number of cards in hand is checked at the time of resolution.

【9-031R】Hundlegs
The number “5000” on this card represents Hundleg’s power when he becomes a Forward. He does not have any power when he is not a Forward.
During your turn and when on the field, Hundlegs is always of both Forward and Monster types.

【9-032C】Mind Flayer
If the chosen Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution or has left the field, you do not draw a card.

【9-038R】Rinoa
When selecting 3 of the 3 actions, resolve them in order from top to bottom.
You cannot select the same effect twice.

【9-039C】Locke
Card Type refers to Forward, Backup, Summon or Monster.

【9-040C】Nu Mou
The payment of the Ice CP occurs at resolution. After paying, the auto-ability “When you do so…” goes onto the stack and any other auto/action/special abilities can then be stacked in turn.

Wind


【9-041R】Ahriman
The number “7000” on this card represents Ahriman’s power when he becomes a Forward. He does not have any power when he is not a Forward.
During your turn and when on the field, Ahriman is of both Forward and Monster types.

【9-044C】Viera
The payment of the Wind CP occurs at resolution. After paying, the auto-ability “When you do so…” goes onto the stack and any other auto/action/special abilities can then be stacked in turn.

【9-045H】Edge
Back Attack doesn’t stack. Edge can be played onto the field when a stack is present, but it won’t affect the stack and he will go onto the field immediately.

【9-048C】Seven
Back Attack doesn’t stack. Seven can be played onto the field when a stack is present, but it won’t affect the stack and she will go onto the field immediately.

【9-051R】Fat Chocobo
If there are less than 5 cards in your deck, reveal them all.

【9-053R】Balthier
When selecting action number 3, the payment of the Wind/Wind CP cost occurs at resolution. After paying, the auto-ability “When you do so…” goes onto the stack and any other auto/action/special abilities can then be stacked in turn.

【9-056H】The Magus Sisters
You must remove 1 other copy of Card Name The Magus Sisters than the one put into the Break Zone in order for the effect to work.

【9-058L】Luso
In the case that a Forward holds more than one Element type, each of those Elements count. For example, 【7-128H】Yuri holds 7 elements, therefore he meets both the requirements of holding more than three Elements or more than five Elements.

Earth


【9-061R】Heretical Knight Garland
When using Heretical Knight Garland’s action ability several times, it triggers as many auto-abilities as the number of action abilities and the 6000 damage will be dealt several times accordingly. For example, if this action ability is performed twice, Heretical Knight Garland will deal 6000 damage twice when attacking.

【9-062H】Vincent
The Backup is put into the Break Zone at resolution. After that, the auto-ability “When you do so…” goes onto the stack and any other auto/action/special abilities can then be stacked in turn.

【9-065C】Golem
If the chosen Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution or has left the field, you do not draw a card.

【9-067C】Cid Garlond
If there are less than 4 cards in your deck, reveal them all.

【9-069R】Tonberry
The number “4000” on this card represents Tonberry’s power when he becomes a Forward. He does not have any power when he is not a Forward.
During your turn and when on the field, Tonberry is always of both Forward and Monster types.

【9-071C】Bangaa
The payment of the Earth CP occurs at resolution. After paying, the auto-ability “When you do so…” goes onto the stack and any other auto/action/special abilities can then be stacked in turn.

【9-072H】Baigan
In the event Baigan receives damage equal or superior to its power, Baigan breaks as per the usual rules and his auto-ability can not be triggered. Therefore, it is not possible for Baigan to deal 7000 damage.

Lightning


【9-083C】Odin
If the chosen Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution or has left the field, you do not draw a card.

【9-084H】Kain
The Lightning Backup must be put into the Break Zone before paying the cost to play Kain. You cannot use that Backup to pay part of the cost of Kain.

【9-086R】Goblin
The number “5000” on this card represents Goblin’s power when it becomes a Forward. He does not have any power when he is not a Forward.
During your turn and when on the field, Goblin is always of both Forward and Monster types.
Goblin may be put into the Break Zone at resolution. After doing so, the auto-ability “When you do so…” goes onto the stack and any other auto/action/special abilities can then be stacked in turn.

【9-087H】 Golbez
In the event that you trigger a second Double Meteor by discarding a Card Name Golbez there is no need to pay the Special Ability Cost a second time.
The second Double Meteor stacks as a different ability to the first one.

【9-090C】Sage
The payment of the Lightning CP occurs at resoution. After paying, the auto-ability “When you do so…” goes onto the stack and any other auto/action/special abilities can then be stacked in turn.

【9-093H】Bahamut ZERO
If the targeted Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution or has left the field, you cannot dull any Forward.

【9-094L】Fusoya
The cards are revealed at resolution. Once they have been revealed, nothing can be done to prevent the subsequent effects

【9-095L】Meia
When selecting 3 of the 3 actions, resolve them in order from top to bottom.
You cannot select the same action twice

【9-100R】Ravus
When entering the field, the two auto-abilities are triggered and may be stacked in the order of your choice.
Only the first auto ability has EX BURST.
The number of Forwards is checked at resolution.

Water


【9-101R】Adel (VIII)
The decision to discard a card from your hand happens at resolution. After discarding, the auto-ability “When you do so…” goes onto the stack and any other auto/action/special abilities can then be stacked in turn.

【9-102H】Ultimecia
When both players play a Character onto the field, they play them at the same time. In the event that both Characters played have an auto-ability, the turn player ability triggers first and then the non-turn player's.

【9-106R】Ghis
In the event that Ghis receives damage larger than his power, Ghis breaks as per the usual rules and his auto-ability cannot be triggered. Therefore is it not possible to return Ghis to the field.

【9-107C】Gogo
In the event that the chosen Forward holds several action abilities, Gogo gains all of them.

【9-108C】White Mage
The payment of the Water CP occurs at resolution. After paying, the auto-ability “When you do so…” goes onto the stack and any other auto/action/special abilities can then be stacked in turn.

【9-114C】Cuchulainn, the Impure
If the chosen Forward is no longer a legal target at the time of resolution or has left the field, you do not draw a card.

【9-117C】Mog (VI)
Special Ability: The card is revealed at resolution. Once it has been revealed, nothing can be done to prevent the subsequent effects.

【9-118R】Malboro
The number “6000” on this card represents Malboro’s power when he becomes a Forward. He does not have any power when he is not a Forward.
During your turn and when on the field, Malboro is always of both Forward and Monster types.

【9-119C】Larsa
”Negate all damage” refers to reducing the damage dealt to your Forwards to 0.

Light & Dark


【9-121L】Wol
The Element limitation only applies when playing Wol from your hand onto the field. There is no limit to playing this card onto the field from other effects.

【9-122H】Locke
If there is only 1 card left in your deck, reveal it.

【9-123L】Chaos (MOBIUS)
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field.

Fire


【8-001R】Ark Angel HM
If a card with EX Burst is revealed when dealing double damage, all damage is resolved first. The EX Burst is resolved following this. (If there is more than one EX Burst, they resolve in the order in which they were placed into the Damage Zone.

【8-004R】Iroha
The damage Iroha does also increases by 1000.

【8-006L】Cloud
If you do not have 10 cards left in your deck to remove, Cloud cannot be returned to the field.

【8-013C】Warrior
When using this ability multiple times, the damage increases by 2000 for each time it is used.

【8-014L】Duncan
The damage dealt by Phantom Rush is based on Duncan’s power when resolving. ・In the case that Duncan is no longer on the field when resolving, this is based on Ducan’s power just before leaving the field.

【8-018R】Marche
If there are less than 5 cards in your deck, reveal them all.

【8-022R】Lava Spider
The +3000 power is only gained for the duration of the attack. Once the damage resolution step has ended, the Forwards are no longer attacking and return to their previous power. This is a field ability and therefore doesn't stack. If a Forward is attacking, the +3000 is added instantly.

【8-0139S】Lyse
When Lyse is in the field, you cannot even attempt to play Yda. When Yda is to be played onto the field as the result of an effect, it remains in its original area. This ability limits another card being played onto the field when one is already in play. If Lyse and Yda both enter the field simultaneously, they both remain on the field. If you control Lyse and gain control of your opponent’s Yda both cards remain on the field. (The same goes if you control Yda and gain control of your opponent’s Lyse.) This ability is separate from the rule that cards of the same name cannot be played onto the field simultaneously.

Ice


【8-024C】Umaro
When Umaro is able to attack, the Attack Phase cannot be ended until Umaro has attacked. (Umaro doesn’t need to attack first.)

【8-026L】Garland
With the first auto-ability, the character selection happens when resolving.

【8-028R】The Mask
The Mask’s job is “???”. It’s not the case that The Mask has no job.

【8-031R】Cocytus
When entering the field, the two auto-abilities are triggered and can be stacked in the order of your choice. Only the first auto ability has EX BURST.

【8-034R】Scale Toad
The player does not have to discard a card if they have one card or fewer in their hand when resolving. However, as the ability resolves during the end phase, neither Summons nor abilities can then be used to facilitate this.

【8-035H】Squall
Unless there are 0 cards in your hand prior to paying the cost for Squall’s action ability, it cannot be used. For example, if you have two cards in your hand and discard these in order to pay the cost, the ability cannot be used. (i.e the cost of this ability can only be paid with Backups)

【8-039C】Time Mage
The decision to discard a card from your hand occurs when resolving.​ The cost refers to the original number in the top left-hand corner of the card.

【8-040C/2-044R】Mateus, the Corrupt
When your opponent is attacking with a party, they place one member of the party of their choice into the Break Zone.

【8-042L】Dark Fina
When selecting two actions, these are resolved in order from the top.

【8-043H】 Lasswell
The decision regarding which Forward is dealt 8000 damage and which Forward is dulled takes place when resolving. If one of the two chosen Forwards can no longer be chosen when it is time to resolve, deal 8000 damage to another suitable Forward. It cannot be dulled.

【8-044C】Lancer Unit
The decision regarding whether to dull or Freeze is made when resolving.

Wind


【8-052C】Thief
When revealing a card randomly, your opponent must have their cards face-down and shuffled so that they do not know which is which when revealing a card.

【8-053H】Sherlotta
You can generate two CP by first by dulling Sherlotta to generate 1 CP, and then placing her into the Break Zone to generate a total of 2 CP. (Towards the same or separate costs.)

【8-055C】Selkie
Card Type refers to Forward, Backup, Summon or Monster.

【8-056R】Deathgaze (IX)
The Forward removed from the field returns immediately after Deathgaze [IX] leaves the field. This action does not stack and cannot be used in a stack. If Deathgaze [IX] leaves the field prior to resolving, the chosen Forward is not removed from the field. If a Forward with the same name as the Forward which was removed is in your opponent’s field when Deathgaze [IX] leaves the field, the Forward which was removed does not return.

【8-060L】 Fina
When paying the additional cost, the total comes to 9 CP. The extra 3CP is not paid when resolving. When selecting two actions, these are resolved in order from the top.

【8-066C/3-071H】 Chaos, Walker of the Wheel
If the forward chosen using 【1-176H】 Yuna’s ability (or similar) cannot be put into the Break Zone, your opponent cannot play a Forward from their hand.

【8-141S】Yuffie
The payment of X occurs when resolving.

Earth


【8-067R】Ark Angel TT
If Ark Angel TT enters the field during your opponent's turn due to an effect, it is broken at the end of your opponent’s next turn.

【8-068L】Ardyn
The character is selected when this ability resolves.

【8-071H】Undead Princess
The decision regarding whether or not to pay 《3》 happens when this ability resolves. Only Backups you control can be placed in the Break Zone to pay cost.

【8-074H】Gladiolus
If Gladiolus enters the field due to the effect of an ability, payment is not limited to Earth CP. The cost to play Gladiolus onto the field refers to the number in the upper left-hand corner of the card.

【8-078L】Nacht
Nacht’s action ability costs two times the number X. For example, if X=2, 4 CP must be paid.

【8-081R】Fenrir
When paying the additional cost, this is in addition to the cost to summon the card , and comes to a total of 4 CP. This is not paid when resolving.

【8-082R】Prompto
When entering the field, the two auto abilities are triggered and may be stacked in the order of your choice. Only the first auto ability has EX BURST.

【8-084R】Libroarian
Place cards face-up when removing them. The player controlling Libroarian decides which card goes back into the player’s hand.

Lightning


【8-089R】Ark Angel EV
Even if the Forward chosen can’t be dulled, it can still be dealt 2000 damage.

【8-090C】Alisaie
Card Name Alphinaud may also gain Haste when it is a Backup.

【8-092C】Alphinaud
The ability is based on Alphinaud’s power when resolving. In the case that Alphinaud is no longer on the field when resolving, this is based on Alphinaud’s power just before leaving the field.

【8-097H】Jake
The Forward on the field gains +4000 when resolving Jake’s auto-ability. It’s not the case that they enter the field with +4000 power immediately.

【8-100R】Jinnai
Back Attack doesn’t stack. Jinnai can be played onto the field when a stack is present, but it does not have any effect on the stack and goes onto the field immediatelly.

【8-102R】Death Machine
For the third auto-ability, the character selection occurs when resolving.

Water


【8-118H】Steiner
If Steiner enters the field Dulled, it becomes active.

【8-124C】Ninja
Unless the Forward you have gained control of has Haste, it may not attack or use any abilities with the dull icon this turn. ​Even if control has changed, the card status remains the same. For example, effects such as “Add +1000 power until the end of the turn” stay in effect. If the player to whom control has gone has 2 or more cards of the same name without the “generic card” icon as a result of this, all cards are placed in the Break Zone. When the card for which control has changed is placed in the Break Zone, it is placed in its owner's Break Zone. The change of control at no time causes any cards to “enter the field” or “leave the field.” No auto-abilities with these as conditions will be triggered.

【8-128R】Meltigemini
Power can be changed to a specific number, such as when using【6-052R】Diablos. Power level change is not treated as an increase. When Meltigemini is on the field, power cannot be increased by any field abilities. When Meltigemini enters the field, if power has been increased by action or auto-abilities that have already been resolved or by a summon, these increases stay as they are. Power cannot be increased by any further abilities or summons.

【8-132L】Lunafreya
If multiple Forwards are put into the Break Zone simultaneously, Lunafreya’s auto-ability occurs the same number of times. You may stack these in the order of your choosing, but Lunafreya can only be put into the Break Zone when resolving once, so only 1 Forward can be returned to the field.

Light & Dark


【8-135H】Ark
The number of cards that can be drawn matches the number of Forwards that are placed in the Break Zone when their power becomes 0 or less by resolving this effect. For example, even if a Forward with a power of 9000 takes 1000 damage before or after this effect and is placed into the break zone, a card is not drawn for this.

【8-136L】Veritas of the Dark
For the second auto-ability, the character selection occurs when resolving.

Fire


【7-003C】Red Mage
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-004C】Fritt
Fritt is both a Forward and a Monster.

【7-006R】Varuna
The number “8000” on this card represents Varuna’s power when he becomes a Forward. He does not have any power when he is not a Forward.

【7-011C】Summoner
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-014R】Baugauven
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-015R】Fang
This card’s field abilities can be used cumulatively. If you control 6 or more Category XIII characters, Fang gains +3000 power, First Strike and Haste.

【7-017H】Meeth
This card refers to the actual cost of the card (the value displayed).

【7-020C】Lulu
The decision whether or not to place the Backup into the Break Zone occurs during the resolution stage.

【7-132S】Firion
Even if you are in control of 4 or more Forwards, you may only deal 6000 damage.

Ice


【7-026R】Gremlin
The number “7000” on this card represents Gremlin’s power when he becomes a Forward. He does not have any power when he is not a Forward.

【7-027C】Black Mage
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-029H】Kefka
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-034L】Sephiroth
When Sephiroth attacks his Auto Ability goes on the stack, if during the resolution phase, your opponents handsize becomes 0, the chosen forward gets dulled and frozen.

【7-035L】Serah
Even if the number of Category XIII characters has changed by the resolution phase, the selected characters will still all be dulled.

【7-038C】Bablizz
Bablizz is both a Forward and a Monster.

【7-039C】Mystic Knight
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-040C】Yunalesca
The decision about whether or not to discard a Summon is made during the resolution phase.

Wind


【7-046R】Vata
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-048C】Ranger
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-049H】Kelger
If there are less than 5 cards in your deck, reveal them all.

【7-050R】Condor
The number “8000” on this card represents Condor’s power when he becomes a Forward. He does not have any power when he is not a Forward.

【7-054L】Chelinka
The damage Chelinka does also increases by 1000.

【7-056H】Dorgann
・The Forward removed from the field returns immediately after Dorgann leaves the field. The Forward’s return to the field cannot be used in a stack.
・If Dorgann leaves the field during resolution, the chosen Forward is not removed from the field.
・If a Forward with the same name as the Forward that was removed is in your opponent’s field when Dorgann leaves the field, the Forward which was removed does not return.

【7-058C】Ninja
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-059L】Bartz
When Bartz uses “Dual-Wield,” the card's base power (the number displayed on the card) becomes 10000. All other card or ability effects occur after this has taken place.

【7-063C】Rem
The decision of whether or not to discard a card from your hand occurs when resolving.

Earth


【7-064R】Asmodai
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-065H】Vanille
The number is selected during the resolution phase. Once the number has been selected, this process cannot be interrupted.

【7-066C】Carbuncle
Back Attack doesn’t stack. It can be played onto the field when a stack is present, but it does not have any effect on the stack and goes onto the field immediately.

【7-070R】Zaghnal
The number “9000” on this card represents Zaghnal’s power when he becomes a Forward. He does not have any power when he is not a Forward.

【7-071R】Shantotto
This ability overwrites the card’s Element. When Shantotto becomes the specified Element, she ceases to be Earth Element and produces CP of the newly specified Element when dulled.

【7-072C】Summoner
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-077L】Noctis
・Only the first auto ability has EX BURST.
・When taking damage, the second auto ability is triggered and can be stacked in the order of your choice. The first ability does nothing unless you have received damage.

【7-082R】Moogle (FFC)
Job 【Moogle】 Backups can all produce CP of any Element, but they do not become that Element. Their Element remains as it is on the card.

【7-083C】Monk
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-084C】Yojimbo
・The chosen Forwards only do damage to each other if they are both on the field upon resolution. Additionally, if either or both become ineligible for selection, they do no damage to each other.
・It is not Yojimbo that does damage, but the selected Forward.

Lightning


【7-085C】Red Mage
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-087R】Exdeath
You may also choose a Forward from your opponent’s Break Zone. It is played onto your field, under your control.

【7-092C】Thancred
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-093C】Zapt
Zapt is both a Forward and a Monster.

【7-097R】Barbara
Barbara herself also gains Haste.

【7-098R】Flanborg
The number “7000” on this card represents Flanborg’s power when it becomes a Forward. He does not have any power when he is not a Forward.

【7-099R】Cannoneer
Only Forwards you control can be placed in the Break Zone to pay the cost.

【7-104H】Ramza
This card’s field abilities can be used cumulatively. If Ramza has 8000 power or more, he gains Haste, Brave, and First Strike.

【7-105C】Dragoon
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-138S】Golbez
The cost is decided when this card is played onto the field. If paying cost with cards in your hand, these cards are not counted as being in the Break Zone.

Water


【7-106L】Agrias
If there are no Characters of cost 3 or less in the cards revealed, shuffle all revealed cards back into the deck.

【7-111R】Geosgaeno
The number “7000” on this card represents Geosgaeno’s power when he becomes a Forward. He does not have any power when he is not a Forward.

【7-113R】Styx
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-116L】Tidus
Back Attack doesn’t stack. It can be played onto the field when a stack is present, but it does not have any effect on the stack and goes onto the field immediately.

【7-118C】Ninja
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

【7-120H】Faris
If there are less than 5 cards in your deck, reveal them all.

【7-122C】Mime
“The cost paid to play” this card refers to the cost paid to move this card from your hand onto the field. This does not include any cost used to play this card using the effect of another card.

Light


【7-128H】Yuri
・Yuri only has all Elements when he is on the field. When he is in your hand or deck or in the Break Zone, he is Light Element only.
・The cards that can be dulled to pay cost may be 3 Backups of the same Element or 2 Backups of the same Element and Yuri.

Dark


【7-129H】Galdes
When discarding a card randomly, your opponent must have their cards face-down and shuffled so that they do not know which is which when removing a card.

Fire


【6-005C】Illusionist
If the Forward you've chosen is able to attack, the Attack Phase will not end until it has attacked. However, this attack does not need to happen first.

【6-006C/1-011C】Evoker
This card is the same as【1-011C】Evoker. You may not have more then three of these cards in your deck.

【6-012R】Zell
The damage dealt is based on Zell's power when resolving.

【6-016H】Dark Lord
All cards removed are placed face-up.

【6-018R】Neo Bahamut
If the targeted Forward is not longer a legal target at the time of resolving, your hand is not discarded.

【6-020H】Montblanc
The number of Category FFTA2 Forwards is calculated during resolution.

Ice


【6-027L】Kuja
Only Backups you control can be placed in the Break Zone to pay cost.

【6-032C/1-040C】Summoner
This card is the same as 【1-040C】Summoner. You may not have more than three of these cards in your deck.

【6-033H】Squall
If your opponent has 0 cards, you gain the effects of both abilities.

【6-037C】Shock Trooper
The Forward chosen by Shock Trooper is broken during the Attack Declaration step. It is broken before a Forward can be chosen to block.

【6-041L】Hades
If the targeted Forward is not longer a legal target at the time of resolution, your opponent do not have to discard.

【6-041L】Rinoa
A Forward removed from and then played back on to the field is treated as a newly played Forward. Unless it has Haste, it may not attack or use any abilities with the dull icon this turn. All temporary power modifiers and all damage is removed.

Wind


【6-043C/1-068C】Evoker
This card is the same as【1-068C】Evoker. You may not have more then three of these cards in your deck.

【6-044L】Zidane
This card has an Erratum. The second auto-ability allows "1 Wind Character" to be chosen, not any character.
If your opponent discard 2 or more cards, the auto-ability occurs the same number of times as the number of cards discarded.

【6-052R】Diablos
Diablos changes the Forward's base power (as displayed on the card) to 4000. All other card or ability effects that modify the power are applied after this has taken place.

【6-062R】Rikku
"When Rikku is in Battle" refers to when Rikku is either blocking or being blocked. She is not considered to be "in Battle" when her attack is not being blocked by your opponent's Forwards.
"Remove Rikku from the battle" means that Rikku will no longer be attacking or blocking. If Rikku is removed from the Battle, Rikku and the Forward attacking her will do no damage to each other.

【6-063H】Leon
When your opponent gains control of Leon, unless he has Haste, he may not attack during that turn.
Even if control has changed, the card keeps the same status. For example, if Leon is dulled he stays dulled, and effects such as "Add +1000 power until the end of the turn" stay in effect.

【5-071R】Leyak
If using a card like【1-176H】Yuna, with which Leyak can be removed from the game instead of put into the Break Zone, Leyak can still activate the Characters you control and make you draw 1 card.
If on the other hand Leyak is removed from the field before its auto-ability resolves, it can’t be put into the Break Zone and therefore cannot activate the Characters you control and make you draw 1 card.

Earth


【6-073C/1-105C】Evoker
This card is the same as 【1-105C】Evoker. You may not have more then three of these cards in your deck.

【6-075R】Titan
Cannot be cast or used as an Ex Burst unless 2 Forwards are chosen.

【6-083H】Y'shtola
The first ability keeps Y'shtola from being broken by summons or abilities such as【1-124R】Odin's "Choose 1 Forward. Break it." If Y'shtola takes more then her power level in damage from a summon or an ability, she breaks as per normal rules.

【6-084L】Leo
Backups can produce CP of any Element, but they do not become that Element. Their Element remains as it is on the card.

Lightning


【6-087R】Edea
You cannot choose this card from the Break Zone.

【6-088L】Estinien
The Forward blocking Estinien is broken during the Block Declaration step. They do not damage each other.

【6-090H】Kain
When your opponent gains control of Kain, unless he has Haste, he may not attack during that turn.
Even if control has changed, the card keeps the same status. For example, if Kain is dulled he stays dulled, and effects such as "Add +1000 power until the end of turn" stay in effect.

【6-092C】Quezacotl
Cannot be cast or used as an Ex Burst unless 2 Forwards are chosen.

【6-094L】Seifer
Seifer's auto-ability is triggered when he blocks or is blocked. This occurs before damage resolution.

【6-096C/1-138C】Summoner
This card is the same as【1-138C】Summoner. You may not have more then three of these cards in your deck.

【6-099H】Frimelda
The number of Job Sword Saint is calculated during resolution.

【6-101R】Raijin
When resolving this special ability, is still resolves even if you have lost control of Card Name Seifer or Card Name Fujin.

Water


【6-110C/1-159C】Evoker
This card is the same as【1-159C】Evoker. You may not have more then three of these cards in your deck.

【6-112H】Shuyin
Unless the Forward you have gained control of has Haste, it may not attack or use any abilities with the dull icon this turn.
Even if control has changed, the card keeps the same status. For example, if it's dulled is stays dulled, and effects such as "Add +1000 power until the end of the turn" stay in effect.

【6-124L】Yuna
The decision of whether to play the Forward from your hand onto the field or search for the Forward occurs when resolving.

Light


【6-127L】Hraesvelgr
If the Attack Phase is skipped, Main Phase 2 begins immediately after Main Phase 1. Auto-abilities that include "At the start of the Attack Phase" are not triggered.

Dark


【6-130L】Nidhogg
Your opponent must have their cards face-down and shuffled so that they do not know which is which when removing a card. The removed card is placed face-up.

Fire


【5-003C】Ifrit
The choice to discard 1 “Card Name Ifrit” happens when the ability resolves.

【5-008R】Grenade
If 2 or more Forwards with less than 8000 power enter the field at the same time, Grenade’s auto-ability is triggered for each of them. You can stack the abilities in your preferred order, but as you cannot deal damage with Grenade’s ability unless you put Grenade into the Break Zone, you can only do 8000 damage once.
If using a card like Yuna【1-176H】, with which Grenade can be removed from the game instead of put into the Break Zone, Grenade can still deal the 8000 damage.
If on the other hand Grenade is removed from the field before its auto-ability resolves, it can’t be put into the Break Zone and therefore cannot deal the 8000 damage.

【5-011H】Vermillion Bird l’Cie Zhuyu
The number of times Vermillion Bird l’Cie Zhuyu can attack this turn increases by one each time a Forward damaged by it is put into the Break Zone.

【5-015H】Tellah
”Recall” Special ability - The top card of your deck is removed when the ability resolves.

【5-019L】Phoenix
If you don’t have any Forwards of cost 3 or less in your Break Zone, Phoenix cannot be cast.

【5-024H】Luneth
If a Forward is both Fire Element and Job Warrior of Light, it still only gains +1000 power.

【5-149S】Amodar
”Double the power of Amodar” means his current power plus any adjustments. For example, if he has had +1000 power added by using【1-030R】 Lebreau, then his power would go up +9000.

Ice


【5-028C】Arcanist
The number is selected when the ability resolves.

【5-032H】Glasya Labolas
Actions are selected when casting.
Actions are performed in the order they’re written, from top to bottom.

【5-036L】The Emperor
If your opponent draws two or more cards, the auto-ability is triggered for each card drawn.

【5-037R】Zeid
Even if Zeid is attacked simultaneously by multiple Forwards during a party attack, only 1 card is discarded. (A party is considered as 1 Character.)

【5-041R】Snow
X is paid when the ability resolves.

【5-042C】Trickster
This doesn’t apply just for attack or block. Trickster doesn’t receive any damage from cards like 【4-093R】Hecatoncheir either.

【5-046R】Buccaboo
If 2 or more Characters enter the field simultaneously, Buccaboo’s auto-ability is triggered for each of them. You can stack the abilities in your preferred order, but as you cannot force your opponent to discard with Buccaboo’s auto-ability unless you put Buccaboo into the Break Zone, you can only force your opponent to discard once.
If using a card like【1-176H】Yuna, with which Buccaboo can be removed from the game instead of put into the Break Zone, Buccaboo can still make your opponent discard 2 cards.
If on the other hand Buccaboo is removed from the field before its auto-ability resolves, it can’t be put into the Break Zone and therefore cannot make your opponent discard 2 cards.

【5-048H】Lugae
The choice between Dull and Freeze is made when the ability resolves.

Wind


【5-049C】Asura
”Negate all damage dealt to it” means all damage that the Forward has received since the beginning of the current turn.

【5-052H】Arc
If a Forward is both Wind and Job Warrior of Light, it still only gains +1000 power.

【5-053R】Echo
Actions are selected when the auto-ability activates.
Actions are performed in the order they’re written, from top to bottom.

【5-060C】Chocobo
If Chocobo ceases to be in a party due to an effect occurring during an attack, it takes damage.

【5-062L】Diabolos
Actions are selected when casting.
Actions are performed in the order they’re written, from top to bottom.

【5-071R】Leyak
If using a card like【1-176H】Yuna, with which Leyak can be removed from the game instead of put into the Break Zone, Leyak can still activate the Characters you control and make you draw 1 card.
If on the other hand Leyak is removed from the field before its auto-ability resolves, it can’t be put into the Break Zone and therefore cannot activate the Characters you control and make you draw 1 card.

Earth


【5-074H】Ingus
If a Forward is both of Earth Element and Job Warrior of Light, it still only gains +1000 power.

【5-075L】Wol
Actions are selected when the auto-ability activates.
Actions are performed in the order they’re written, from top to bottom.

【5-078R】Gabranth
Even if receiving 2 or more damage at once, that damage becomes 0.

【5-079H】Calbrena
Once Calbrena returns to the field, it is no longer a Forward.

【5-081C】Cockatrice
If selecting a Forward in the midst of attacking or blocking, that attack or block does not become invalidated.

【5-086L】Cecil
If the damage dealt by the special ability “Dark” causes the EX BURST to occur, the effects of the EX BURST resolve after the effects of “Dark.”

【5-090R】Hill Gigas
If using a card like Yuna【1-176H】, with which Hill Gigas can be removed from the game instead of put into the Break Zone, Hill Gigas can still cancel the effect and break the Character.
If on the other hand Hill Gigas is removed from the field before its auto-ability resolves, it can’t be put into the Break Zone and therefore cannot cancel the effect or break the Character.

Lightning


【5-099H】Illua
Illua’s auto-ability is triggered only when she is first chosen in that turn. Following that, it isn’t triggered even if she’s chosen again.

【5-100H】Odin
Actions are selected when casting.
Actions are performed in the order they’re written, from top to bottom.

【5-106R】Black Knight
If 2 or more Forwards of cost 4 or less enter the field simultaneously, Black Knight’s auto-ability is triggered for each of them. You can stack the abilities in your preferred order, but as you cannot break the Forward with Black Knight’s auto-ability unless you put Black Knight into the Break Zone, you can only break 1 Forward.
If using a card like Yuna【1-176H】, with which Black Knight can be removed from the game instead of put into the Break Zone, it can still break a Forward.
If on the other hand Black Knight is removed from the field before its auto-ability resolves, it can’t be put into the Break Zone and therefore cannot break any Forwards.

Water


【5-130R】Tonberry
If using a card like【1-176H】Yuna, with which Tonberry can be removed from the game instead of put into the Break Zone, Tonberry can still break the Character.
If on the other hand Tonberry is removed from the field before its auto-ability resolves, it can’t be put into the Break Zone and therefore cannot break the Character.

【5-133H】Bismarck
Actions are selected when summoning.
Actions are performed in the order they’re written, from top to bottom.

【5-135L】Porom
Porom’s action ability can only choose action abilities that are on the stack.

【5-137C】Green Mage
Green Mage’s action ability can only choose action abilities that are on the stack.

【5-139C】Leviathan
The number of cards in your hand is calculated when the ability resolves.

【5-141H】Refia
If a Forward is both of Water Element and Job Warrior of Light, it still only gains +1000 power.

Light


【5-145L】Vaan
Actions are selected when the auto-ability activates.
Actions are performed in the order they’re written, from top to bottom.

Dark


【5-147L】Eald’narche
If the game ends by the end of the turn in which “Paradise” is played, the self-defeat ability of “Paradise” doesn’t occur. However, if you take damage or become unable to draw from your deck, you lose the game as usual.
If “Paradise” is played again in the additional turn gained by playing “Paradise,” you still lose at the end of the original additional turn.

【5-148H】Kam’lanaut
Kam’lanaut’s Element switching ability overwrites his current Element. (He ceases to have that Element.) You can select the same Element that he already has again.

GENERAL QUESTIONS


Is there a limit to the number of Forwards I can play onto the field?
No.

Is there a limit to the number of Forwards in a Party?
No.

Is there a limit to the number of cards I can discard from my hand?
No. You can discard as many cards as you like, during your turn to play Characters or use Summons & abilities and during your opponent’s turn to play Summons and abilities. Starting with an empty hand might not be the best strategy though!

If I already control 5 Backups, how can I play another one onto the field?
You can only have 5 Backups on your field at a given time but there are some abilities that can break Backups or return them to your hand in order to play different ones. Certain Backups like 1-120C Monk also need to be put into the Break Zone as part of their ability's cost so this is another way to free up some space on your field while using certain abilities.

When a Backup ability requires to dull it, does doing so also generate 1 Crystal Point?
No. For example, if a Backup ability requires you to pay 1 Crystal Point and dull that Backup as part of the cost, the CP must be generated by dulling a different Backup or discarding a card from your hand. Dulling a Backup as part of its ability’s cost and dulling a Backup to generate 1 Crystal Point are two different actions you have to choose from.

I discarded 2 cards to play a Forward of cost 3, can I use the extra Crystal Point left towards another cost?
No, any extra CP generated is lost, this is also why Backups are important to top up when the cost of the card you want to play is an odd number. CPs are always generated towards a single use/cost, there will be one exception called “Overdrive” in the future but none of the cards in Opus I have this ability yet.

What do card categories like 1-182L Cloud’s “DFF·VII” stand for?
These are actually two distinct categories. “DFF·VII” means that the card is of both Dissidia Final Fantasy and Final Fantasy VII. For example, when you are using a card ability like 1-204S Jessie’s: “When Jessie enters the field, you may search for 1 [(Category (VII)] Forward and add it to your hand.”, you can actually add 1-182L Cloud to your hand as his category is DFF·VII.

After attacking with a Forward, can I use a Summon like 1-074R Sylph while still during my Attack Phase to re-activate that Forward and attack again?
No. Forwards can only attack once per turn.

How does Freeze work exactly?
If any of the dull Characters you control gets Frozen, it simply won’t activate during your next Active Phase. You can use an ability like 1-200S Baralai’s to activate the Character before this Phase but bear in mind that the Freeze effect will still remain. If the frozen Character gets dull again before your next Active Phase, it will not activate then.

Can I use First Strike when attacking with a party?
You can only benefit from First Strike if all members of your party have this trait. Other abilities and traits like Brave work on an individual level (e.g. if a Forward in the Party has Brave, he doesn’t dull when attacking).

If I attack with a Party and the blocker has First Strike, how is the damage exchanged?
e.g. if you have a party made up of two 5000 power Forwards and your opponents blocks with a 5000 power Forward that has first strike, he will inflict 5000 damage first and can break one of the two Forwards in your Party (if he chooses to allocate the full 5000 on 1 Forward). Then, your other Forward will deal 5000 damage to his and break it. Result: 1 of the two Forwards forming your Party will survive.

If I attack with a Forward, my opponent declares a blocker and I then use a Summon to destroy that blocker before the damage is exchanged, does my opponent take 1 point of damage or does he have a chance to choose another blocker?
Neither of the two. A blocker was already declared meaning that the block will be successful regardless if the blocking Forward is destroyed, your opponent won’t receive any point of damage. It is not possible for him to choose another blocker either as there can be only one Forward blocking another and the block was successful. So in this case, the blocking forward is destroyed and no damage exchanged at all.

If an ability inflicts damage to several Forwards, is the damage dealt to all of them at the same time?
Yes, Forwards receive the damage at the same time. Any bonus granted by a Forward to another Forward doesn’t apply anymore if the former is broken at the same time.
e.g. My opponent controls Rikku 1-201s as well as 1-214S Yuna meaning Rikku gains +2000 power and has now 8000 (If you control [Card Name (Yuna)], Rikku gains +2000 power and Rikku cannot be chosen by Summons.)

If I cast 1-191S Red XIII’s Cosmo Memory “Deal 6000 damage to all the Forwards opponent controls.”, Yuna is broken so Rikku loses 2000 power falling back to 6000 and is thus broken by RED-XIII’s special ability.

GENERAL QUESTIONS


1-213S – Tidus “When the Forward [Card Name (Yuna)] is put from your field into the Break Zone, draw 2 cards.” If I control Tidus and Yuna and both Forwards are broken at the same time, can I still draw two cards?
Yes you can.

If I control 1-201s Rikku and [Card Name (Paine)], Rikku can’t be chosen abilities. If my opponent uses a special ability like 1-191S Red XIII’s Cosmo Memory, does Rikku receive damage?
Yes, this is because 1-191S Red XIII’s special ability text reads: “Deal 6000 damage to all the Forwards opponent controls.” so Rikku is not “chosen” as all opposing Forwards are affected. If instead the ability text read: “Choose 1 Forward opponent controls, deal it 6000 damage”, then it would not be possible for your opponent to target Rikku with this ability.

1-074R – Sylph – “Choose 1 Forward. Activate it. All the Forwards you control gain +1000 power until the end of the turn.” If I cast Sylph to activate one of my Forwards and then that Forward is broken by my opponent’s Summon or ability placed in the stack, do my other Forwards still gain + 1000 power?
As the Forward activated by Sylph is actually broken by your Opponent’s Summon or ability (played last so occurring first in the stack), Sylph’s condition can no longer be fulfilled therefore your other Forwards don’t gain 1000 power.